Manohar Parrikar and Vishwajeet Rane sweep the by-polls with a big margin

The two Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates have won the by-polls with a big margin. Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar has won in Panaji constituency with a margin of over 4,000 votes, while Health Vishwajeet won the Valpoi constituency with a margin of over 10,000 votes.

By-poll results:



Victory to boost morale

The by-poll win will boost the BJP’s moral after it suffered a great loss in the recently held assembly election in which even the sitting CM of the BJP at the time was defeated. The party was brought down from 22 MLAs to 13 MLAs in the assembly.

The Congress, in Vishwajeet Rane, had lost one of its very strong candidates after he resigned from the assembly as a Congress MLA and later joined the BJP. It was known that odds were against Roy Naik and Girish Chodankar in Valpoi and Panaji constituency.

Congress with its 16 MLAs will continue to be the largest Party in the assembly. While the BJP will have 14 MLAs in the assembly now.