Goa’s Cabinet Ministers And Other Political Developments

After the unexpected turn of events in the political battlefield of the coastal state, the newly formed Goa government, led by formed Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar, is expected to announce the portfolios that each one of the eight members of cabinet will be assigned. The meeting for the same was reportedly held today at noon, however no news on the matter has yet been announced.

Receiving a fractured mandate, with no one party having the majority, BJP along with the support of elected MLAs from MGP, GFP, independent candidates, even Churchill Alemao (contesting from a NCP ticket), were invited by Governor Mridula Sinha to form government.

Since then, the state government has declared the names of the nine MLAs, who will form the cabinet of Goa. Headed by Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, the cabinet comprises of two independent MLAs Govind Gawde and Rohan Khaunte; two MGP MLAs Ramakrishna ‘Sudin’ Dhavalikar (former PWD minister) and Manohar Ajgaonkar; three GFP MLAs Vijai Sardesai (mentor of GFP), Jayesh Salgaonkar and Vinod Palyekar; and two BJP MLAs Francis D’souza and Pandurang Madkaikar.

Read a detail on each member of Parrikar’s Cabinet here.

The meeting for deciding the portfolios was reportedly held today at noon, which will be notified on Saturday as Governor Mridula Sinha is currently traveling out of the State. The meeting will also confirm the Governor’s speech that will be delivered on the second day of the Budget Session that is on March 23. The Budget Session is a three-day long session that begins on March 22 and ends on March 24.

Congress’ Civil War

Upset with the leadership of the party, Congress MLA Vishwajit Rane stayed absent for the trust vote, where the BJP-led alliance won 22 votes, forming the government. Furthermore the MLA also resigned as a member of legislative assembly and from the Congress party.

“My frustration comes from the manner in which the party is functioning. I am frustrated, disillusioned,” Rane said. – The New Indian Express

Following his footsteps, Savio Rodrigues, Vice-chairman of Goa Congress’ minority cell also tendered his resignation as well.

As reported by the New Indian Express, a Congress leader from Mumbai on condition of anonymity revealed that Pratapsingh Rane is also likely to resign and join the saffron party and most likely be offered a plum post.

Image Credit: Goa Forward Party Twitter